Awards & Recognition

We’re proud to share some of the ways Rady Children’s Hospital-San Diego has been recognized — both locally and nationally. These honors are important for one reason only: They demonstrate our commitment in doing what’s right for kids.

Most Wired

For the fourth consecutive year (2015, 20142013, 2012), Rady Children’s is named as  one of the nation’s “Most Wired” hospitals. See the full list in Hospitals & Health Networks magazine.

Best Children’s Hospitals

best-childrens-hospitals-10 specsFor the fifth consecutive year (20152011), Rady Children’s ranked in all 10 specialties surveyed by U.S. News & World Report for its Best Children’s Hospitals rankings. Our Orthopedics program achieved particular distinction, ranking as the #2 program in the nation.

The rankings highlight U.S. News’s top 50 U.S. pediatric facilities in cancer, cardiology & heart surgery, diabetes & endocrinology, gastroenterology & GI surgery, neonatology, nephrology, neurology & neurosurgery, orthopedics, pulmonology and urology. Read more.

Heart Ignite Award

LambertiDr. John J. Lamberti received the Heart Ignite Award from the San Diego Division of the American Heart Association, presented at its 2015 San Diego Heart Ball. The honoree demonstrates the highest commitment to advancing the association’s mission of building healthier lives, free of cardiovascular diseases and stroke, as well as outstanding service and practice in the field.

Outstanding Social Worker of the Year

Chales Wilson croppedCharles Wilson, M.S.S.W., senior director of the Chadwick Center for Children and Families, was honored at the third annual Social Work Day. He received the award for Outstanding Social Worker of the Year in the “macro” category, whereby an individual has made a significant impact across the state or throughout the nation.

best-nursing-homes (2)Best Nursing Homes

Rady Children’s Bernardy Center Earned Top Honors from U.S. News & World Report for seven years in a row (20152009). The Helen M. Bernardy Center for Medically Fragile Children continuously rates as one of the nation’s “Best Nursing Home” in U.S. News & World Report’s survey of nearly 16,000 facilities. Only those facilities with perfect five-star ratings from the Center for Medicare and Medicaid earn a place on this prestigious Honor Roll. Read more.

Physician Excellence Awards

Dr  Tina Chambers1X

Dr. William Roberts, Dr. John Kanegaye and Dr. Tina Chambers (pictured) received physician excellence awards at Rady Children’s 2015 Annual Meeting. Dr. Roberts received the award for Excellence in Critical Care, Dr. Kanegaye for Excellence in Teaching, and Dr. Chambers for Excellence in Research.

San Diego Person of the Year

Ernest Rady, friend and benefactor of Rady Children’sErnest, was named U-T San Diego’s 2015 Person of the Year. Among his philanthropic gifts, Ernest (and family) has pledged $120 million to support the Rady Pediatric Genomics and Systems Medicine Institute at Rady Children’s. The gift is the largest donation ever made to Rady Children’s Hospital Foundation.

Achievement in Sleep Medicine

WitLimMeerana_Clinical_2006h fewer than 250 pediatricians certified in the subspecialty of sleep medicine, Meerana Lim, M.D., is among the elite. Her recent board certification indicates that she possesses the knowledge, experience and skills necessary to provide excellent care to patients with sleep issues and sleep-related breathing disorders

Top Honor in Infectious Diseases

John Bradley, M.D., FAAP, chief of the Divisiojohn-bradley smalln of Infectious Diseases, received the Award for Lifetime Contribution in Infectious Diseases Education from the American Academy of Pediatrics (2014).

Social Media-Friendly Hospital

Rady Children’s was named among the top 75 social media friendly children’s hospitals by (2014).

Top Doctors

More than 100 Rady Children’s-affiliated physicians SDMagTopDocscoverwere named “Top Doctors” in the annual San Diego Magazine “Physicians of Exceptional Excellence” survey (2014). Click here for the list of these extraordinary physicians.